The second first time was the first really strong burst to my stomach. The second first time I drove to Mayo to see you it was late afternoon, January 25th 2005, quite cold and, by the time I had left Dublin, already dark. I did not have any satellite navigator back then and it would be very romantic and tear-pulling to say that it was my love to drive me to my sweet newborn daughter but it’s not what happened. In truth I got lost several times. I was tired and a huge lump of emotions and fears were fighting in my stomach; I was in need of strong coffee and lots of cigarettes but I didn’t want my breath to smell unpleasant when I would kiss my baby for the first time. So I kept driving, little knowing but vaguely imagining that I would have hit the same road for many a year. And spent all my money not in whiskey nor in beer.

 

Leave a Reply

